Our group’s annual meeting took place on 27-28 June in Frankfurt, Germany, in collaboration with Goethe University Library. It was an amazing and well organised event with participants from nine countries. Eleven papers were presented covering various areas of Southeast Asian librarianship, including manuscript studies and conservation, special collections and the use of primary sources, old and new, for academic research. The full report with all details of the annual meeting can be found on the SEALG homepage under “Meetings”.

Following our election, which takes place bi-annually, we welcome Doris Jedamski (Leiden University Library) as Chair of SEALG, Holger Warnk (Goethe University Library, Frankfurt) as Vice-Chair of SEALG, and Jotika Khur-Yearn (SOAS, London) as Secretary of SEALG. I would like to use this opportunity to congratulate all of them and wish them success in their new positions. At the same time, I would like to thank all SEALG members for their trust and support for the past nine years during which I was chairing the group. I am also thanking Louise Pichard-Bertaux and Doris Jedamski who supported me as Secretary and Vice-Chair of SEALG in recent years. I think we have made some achievements that we all can be very proud of, and I am confident that Doris, Holger and Jotika will continue the good work.

I will continue to edit the SEALG Newsletter and make contributions to this blog as well. In this context, I would like to invite you to send me news from your institutions, projects, conference announcements, or job advertisements if you think these are relevant to our work. For the Newsletter, we are always looking for contributions, either articles related to your work or to Southeast Asian librarianship in general.

(Jana Igunma)

 

